Phonon interpolation problem with EPW

Post here questions linked with issue while running the EPW code

Moderator: stiwari

mdogan
Affiliation: UC Berkeley

Phonon interpolation problem with EPW

Post by mdogan »

Hello,

I'm new to EPW, and want to compute the e-ph coupling for a solid hydrogen phase. I'm following the steps from the "Electron-phonon coupling with EPW" tutorial (Wed.4 at https://docs.epw-code.org/doc/School2018.html - PDF attached). I'm able to run the code up to page 6 of the PDF, and produce the second epw.x output. It looks like the code runs properly (input and output files attached). The electronic bands are computed correctly (band.eig, band.ps). However, the phonon frequencies have a problem. Many of the interpolated frequencies are correct, but parts of the path are completely off by orders of magnitude (phband.frq). To compare, I plotted the phonon dispersions from epw.x (phbands.freq.png) and matdyn.x (scf.freq.png). As you can see, there is a reasonable match for the points where epw.x was able to give sensible results, but parts of the plot are trash. I also attach the decay plots. I don't know how much decay I should expect in order to be confident in the calculation.

I'd appreciate any comments. Since I'm very new to epw, I might be missing something obvious so don't hesitate to give me any suggestions that might be relevant. Thank you!

Attachments: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/skp3wglmlzhd ... BdE8a?dl=0

Best,
Mehmet Dogan

hlee
Affiliation: The University of Texas at Austin

Re: Phonon interpolation problem with EPW

Post by hlee »

Dear Mehmet Dogan:

First, I would suggest you to use the recent official version of EPW v5.3 (https://gitlab.com/QEF/q-e/-/releases) or the recent development version of EPW (https://gitlab.com/QEF/q-e); I have no experience with EPW v5.1 you are using.